State Standard Deduction Amounts

Just like the federal income tax, there are ways for taxpayers to reduce their taxable income for state taxes. While most states have a standard deduction, some do not. A great example of this is Colorado which the state has no standard deduction. So taxpayers in Colorado can only itemize their deductions. Other states that don’t have standard deductions include Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana,

One misconception regarding the state income tax deductions is it being the same with federal income tax deductions. Your state tax deductions aren’t comparable with the federal income tax deductions. In fact, a good portion of itemized deductions that are available to claim on your federal income tax return is simply not the same for state taxes.

Itemizing deductions or claiming the standard deduction and rolling with it is undoubtedly the most common way taxpayers reduce their taxable income. However, the two aren’t the only way. Taxpayers can claim dependents on their tax returns to qualify for dependent deductions and credits. Unlike deductions, tax credits are more valuable.

The tax credits lower your tax bill rather than reducing your taxable income. The most common tax credit Americans claim is the Child Tax Credit which you can learn more about here.

List of State Standard Deductions Amounts

As we’ve mentioned above, not all states have a standard deduction amount. From the table, you can see whether the state has a standard deduction amount or not. If your state can’t be found below, it simply doesn’t impose an income tax or it doesn’t have a standard deduction. See the list of states without an income tax.

StateSingle FilersMarried Filing Jointly- Qualifying Widow(er)Married Filing SeparatelyHead of Household
Alabama$2,000 to $2,500$4,000 to $7,500$2,000 to $3,750$2,000 to $4,700
California$4,537 $9,074$4,537 $9,074
Maryland*$1,500 to $2,250$3,050 to $4,550$1,500 to $2,250 $3,050 to $4,550
Montana$2,090 to $4,710$4,180 to $9,420
New Mexico$12,400$24,800$12,400$18,650
New York*$3,100 or $8,000$16,050$8,000$11,200
North Carolina$10,000$20,000$10,000$15,000
Rhode Island$8,750$17,500$8,750$13,100
South Carolina$12,200$24,400$12,200$18,350

List of States Without Standard Deduction

  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • New Jersey
  • North Dakota
  • Pennyslvania
  • West Virginia

*Kentucky: When filing Kentucky state income tax, joint filers can’t get a double the amount of separate filers. Instead, each of the individuals filing separately can claim a standard deduction.

*Maryland: If you claimed the standard deduction on your federal income tax return, you must also claim the standard deduction on your Maryland state return. If you itemized though, you can choose to take the standard deduction or itemize.

*Michigan: The standard deduction is only available for taxpayers who are 67 or older before the end of the tax year.

*New York: The standard deduction amount is $3,100 for single filers if someone claims them as a dependent. If not, the standard deduction amount is $8,000.

*Oregon: To claim Oregon standard deduction, your spouse also must claim standard the standard deductions when filing separately.

*Wisconsin: The shown standard deduction amount is the maximum. In Wisconsin, the more you earn, the less your standard deduction will be and vice versa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button