How to Renew Georgia License Plate?

Whether you're a new Georgia resident or a long-time peach state local, understanding how the registration process works can save you time and money.

If you need a new Georgia registration for a vehicle that has never been registered in the state before, complete an Application for New Vehicle Registration. The registration will be good for two years from the date of issue and then must be renewed annually. You can renew your license plate registration in Georgia online, by mail, or at a self-serve kiosk (if your county participates). The fees vary depending on the type of plate you choose. You will also need a valid driver’s license or ID card, proof of insurance, and a vehicle title. If your county requires it, you may also need to provide a Georgia emissions certificate.

A Georgia license plate renewal must be submitted before the current tag expires. The date of renewal is based on the primary owner’s birthday. If a tag is renewed after the owner’s birthday, a late penalty of 10% of the ad valorem tax ($5.00 minimum) and 25% of the tag fee will apply.

You can also change the name and/or address on your Georgia license plate registration’sregistration. You must provide proof of identity and the correct address. You can change your address online using DRIVES e-Services, at a Self-Serve Kiosk (if your county participates), or in person at your County Tag Office.

Georgia Plate Registration Renewal Requirements
How to Renew Georgia License Plate? 1

Georgia Plate Registration Renewal Requirements

You must have a valid Georgia driver’s license and proof of liability insurance to renew your tag. If you cancel your insurance, you must cancel your registration as well. You can do this at any tag office or by mail.

Individuals moving to Georgia must title and register their vehicles within 30 days of establishing residency. In addition, the vehicle must pass an emissions test to see if it is registered in Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Henry, Paulding, or Rockdale County. All other vehicles do not require an emissions test to be registered in Georgia. Penalties for late registration will not be waived.

How to Cancel Your Georgia License Plate Registration?

You can cancel your Georgia vehicle registration by completing the cancellation process in DRIVES e-services, at an MV Express Self-Service Tag Kiosk (if your county participates), or at your County Tag Office. You must also make sure that your address on record with the DOT is correct, either through DRIVES e-services or in person at your local DMV. If the vehicle is covered by a fleet policy or self-insurance, the insurance company must update its records to show this before the registration can be canceled.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button