Form DP-10 is the interest and dividends tax return for New Hampshire residents. It’s a mandatory tax form to file if you received more than $2,400 in interests and dividends. This limit is doubled for married couples filing a joint return. DP-10 reports the income earned through interest and dividends, and also other distributions.
Filing Form DP-10 for New Hampshire taxes is fairly easy, but some might need instructions on certain parts of the form. Here is everything you need to know when filing a copy of Form DP-10.
Who files NH Form DP-10?
Full-year residents and part-year residents that received over $2,400 in interest and dividend payments as a single filer or $4,800 as a married couple filing jointly must file Form DP-10 to report the income received.
In addition to individuals, estates and partnerships/LLCs are required to file Form DP-10.
A guide to filing Form DP-10
While it’s easy enough to report interests and dividends on a federal income tax return, DP-10 is quite complex.
Part 1 – Personal Information
Enter your personal information including your name, address, taxpayer identification number, and date of birth
Part 2 – Return type
Enter your tax classification (entity type) and follow with the return type you’re attaching DP-10, and check one of the boxes about refund, liability, or credit. Also, you can enter an alternate address.
Part 3 – Reporting interest and dividend income
On Step 3 of DP-10, you will report the income you earned from interests and dividends. If you’ve already filed your federal income tax return, this part should be easy, but it’s recommended that you take a look at the complete instructions to file published by the New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration.
Report the income earned from dividends and interests by entering the payer’s information and the total distribution amount. You will then figure out non-taxable income, gross taxable income, and adjusted taxable income that’s subject to the 5 percent interest and dividends tax.
Part 4 – Tax Calculation
Based on the information you provided, calculate the tax you owe and compare it with your payments to see your tax liability. You can also reduce the amount owed by claiming state tax credits. In addition to these, you can calculate additional taxes added by penalties.